Control Those Emotions, Bitches!

Flying home from my holiday break visiting my sister in St. Louis, my carryon was confiscated and searched by the TSA. I’ve had this happen before. My bag is searched, something I totally didn’t even think about is pulled out, I begrudgingly accept their insistence to throw out whatever it is, and continue on with my travels. This time it was a wine opening kit I’d gotten as a gift from my parents. Inside was a wine key with which I was destined to kill everyone on board my flight.

The TSA officer, on top of taking at least 10 minutes retrieving my bag as it sat aside and fellow travelers continued through unabated, immediately condemned the object, with some snarky comments, as against TSA regulations and gave me two options:

  1. To leave security with the bag, check it with my airline for an extra $25, return and go through security again, and continue with my travels.
  2. OR Let the TSA confiscate the wine key from the kit and throw it away, retrieve my bag, and continue on with my travels.

Both options were negative, debilitating, and logically unsound. I chose option 2 out of not wanting to inconvenience myself any more than I had to.

I relate this episode because I wanted to tell you about my reaction to the TSA officer and how the situation went down. It was not good. Instead of responding with a positive maturity, I receded into a detestable youthful angst and protested the stupidity of the situation at hand. I cited the how irritating the moment was. I cited the baggage fee. I made sure the TSA agent felt my rage. My voice was testy and emotional and I was very close to making a scene. For some reason, I let myself get pissed off.

I realize now that the incident couldn’t be blamed on any one thing other than what I already knew deep down inside, I was powerless and not in control.

Control Your Emotions, Don’t Let Them Control You

Could I have changed my tone and gotten into the airport with my wine key and a little more positive energy? Probably not. But I knew the only effect my negativity had was fostering more negativity. I had to reconcile with the anger coursing through my veins after leaving security. I didn’t solve anything by getting angry. I realize now that my emotional energy drove my resentment, not the other way around.

That energy is an important thing to think about. Where I spent my energy in that moment being angry, I could’ve saved for a more fruitful experience being positive. My reactive self could have chosen a path that allowed for seamless transaction, attitude completely in check. Instead I lashed out and opened up a negative dialogue.

Personally, I’ve always had moments like these for as long as I can remember. Getting extremely agitated because the environment around me was suddenly overwhelming, becoming extremely defensive because values I believed in with my heart and soul were being stripped right in front of me. This was nothing new.

What was new was the thought of consciously dealing with the feeling of frustration before it erupted into something bigger. Consciously understanding when my emotions were about to get the best of me. I had a new process to understand.

Mastering Yourself

Of course, the second I started thinking about it, the approach articulated itself. Everything I’ve been writing about in the past 7 blog entries revolves around the concept of mastering yourself. When you know your true self, you know how to handle situations beyond your control. This is tantamount to enriching your livelihood.

 

If you read this and found it helpful or interesting, leave a comment or like. Let me know your thoughts or critiques. Thanks for checking out the Nebulous Hour!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

